Definition of “EF003991 - Detection power for test bodies”, used for example in EC002549

Last comment 14/10/2019 09:17 by Marc
· Mark as unread
Pam Pagenkopf 3 weeks ago created
What is a detection power, is it a distance or something else?
What is meant with test bodies, the notified bodies for the certification?

The values we usually use to describe our light guards are already described by other features, we wonder what this EF003991 can be.
We usually use the below values for our light guards:
• Operating distance (EF004098 - Transmission range of the safety field)
• Resolution (EF006784 - Resolution of the light curtain)
• Protected height (EF004103 - Safety field height)

Example from one of our manuals:
Marc Habets 2 weeks ago created
Hi Pam, I am not an expert, but test bodies has nothing to do with certification. But I did find a definition that hopefully makes sense to you: "For an AOPDDR (active opto-electronic protective device responsive to diffuse reflection), the ability to detect a specified test body in the protection field. For an AOPD (active opto-electronic protective device), the ability with the diameter of an opaque test body to actuate - if this is located near a light curtain in the protection field - if this is located near a multiple light barrier on the midline of any beam" 

Looking at actual product data (in 2BA) from both ABB (Jokab) and Schneider Electric I do see something that raises a question: The value for "Detection power for test bodies"is exactly the same as for the feature "Resolution of the light curtain" in all randomly selected examples, in the attached example 14 mm. That might indicate that this would be in fact a duplicate? 

Maybe your Dutch ABB colleague help:  @benmartens​ can you help us with this? 
Pam Pagenkopf 2 weeks ago created
@jeshwindsouza​ & @sargurumahalingam​ please see comments from Marc.